Leo van Iersel wins the 'Gijs de Leve prize' for the best PhD thesis in the area 'Mathematics of Operations Research' for the years 2009-2011



Laudatio of Frank Thuijsman, head of the jury

Ladies and gentlemen,

This time, as best PhD thesis on Operations Research in the years 2009 to 2011, 10 candidates have been nominated for the Gijs de Leve prize. The LNMB managing board operating as jury, has examined the work of all nominees and was very much impressed by the high quality of the work performed. However, after several discussions, we arrived at a clear top 3 in which numbers 2 and 3 ranked ex aequo.

So, before we come to the prize winner, let me announce the numbers 2 and 3: Maaike Verloop and Fernando de Oliveira. To your information: Maaike Verloop was supervised by Sem Borst, Onno Boxma and Sindo Nunez Queija for her thesis "Scheduling in Stochastic Resource-Sharing Systems" and Fernando de Oliveira was supervised by Frank Vallentin and Lex Schrijver for his thesis "New Bounds for Geometric Packing and Coloring via Harmonic Analysis and Optimization".

And now for the winner, who received his PhD in January 2009:

The jury is impressed by the wide span of the work done during his PhD study. This wide span not only refers to the OR areas and techniques developed in his thesis, but also to doing a lot of pioneering work and, basically, opening up a totally new field for OR studies. His thesis shows a range of results including NP-hardness, APX-hardness, polynomial time algorithms, exponential time exact algorithms and approximation algorithms. The techniques he used are original and inventive and some of his results have been converted into software, which has been applied directly. The thesis led to 11 publications, 6 of which in a variety of fine international journals and 5 papers in the proceedings of, high rated, international conferences. Last year the potential of his work has also been recognized by NWO by awarding him a VENI-grant.

Ladies and gentlemen, the title of the winning thesis, supervised by Leen Stougie, Gerhard Woeginger and Judith Keijsper, is "Algorithms, Haplotypes and Phylogenetic Networks". Please let me have your warm applause for the winner of the Gijs de Leve prize: Leo van Iersel.

(PDF-file of the presentation of Leo van Iersel during the Lunteren 2012 conference)

General information on the Gijs de Leve prize:

The Gijs de Leve prize is awarded every three year starting in 1997. It is devoted to the best PhD thesis in the area 'Mathematics of Operations Research' and the prize winners up to now are

- Sem Borst (1994-1996)
- Jos Sturm (1997-1999)
- Bert Zwart (2000-2002)
- Rene Sitters (2003-2005)
- Ton Dieker (2006-2008)
- Lea van Iersel (2009-2011).